More of same …

Sorry for the late post this week – I let myself get distracted yesterday. I have been continuing my search and application process, and I’ve been expanding it to include some administrative-type jobs along with librarian positions. For example: over the past week I applied to the positions of File Clerk for the Veterans’ Administration in the county where I’m currently living, Library Clerk for the Library of Congress down in Washington, and Librarian with Cornish College for the Arts out in Seattle. I’ll keep going, and hopefully someone will decide to hire me soon. The job I have right now isn’t that bad, but it’s not that great either. I need something full-time that will help me pay my bills (rent, loans, etc.) and give me benefits like health and dental insurance.

I’ve been attempting to maintain my relative sanity in my usual ways: reading and listening to music. I haven’t really watched TV since November, but I can’t say I miss it. My two current books are Ashes of Victory by David Weber and Abundance by Sena Jeter Naslund. Ashes is the ninth book in Mr. Weber’s Honor Harrington series, and I’ve been finding it to be fully excellent. I’ve got the rest of the series through Mission of Honor waiting for me on my shelves, along with the first four Worlds of Honor anthologies (More Than Honor, Worlds of Honor, Changer of Worlds, The Service of the Sword), and Crown of Slaves and Shadow of Saganami from Wages of Sin and Saganami sub-series of the Honorverse. Sena Jeter Naslund is well-known for her book Ahab’s Wife, which gave an excellent alternate view to the vengefully obsessed captain from Herman Melville’s Moby Dick. Her book Abundance deals with Marie Antoinette, the Queen of France and wife of Louis XVI, both of whom were beheaded during the French Revolution. Ms. Naslund says in her Author’s Note that she attempted to be as true as possible to Marie Antoinette by drawing on actual letters and accounts of her from the period. She also says that the famous quote “If they have no bread, then let them eat cake” was actually said by the wife of Louis XIV and wrongly attributed to Marie Antoinette. Either way, Abundance has given me a new view of the French Revolution.

Lunacon is five weeks away, and I’m getting excited. This year’s Guests of Honor are author Lawrence M. Schoen, artist Rachael Mayo, and special interviewer Eric “In The Elevator” Zuckerman. It’s going to be a good time – at least, I hope so.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

